Information for Students

The Summer Research Scholars (SRS) program supports students in collaborative research supervised by W&L faculty. The program aims to encourage the development of research techniques within a particular discipline, to promote the active acquisition of knowledge, and to stimulate student interest in inquiry. It is also intended to aid undergraduate faculty in their research activities by providing student researchers for whom the projects will be meaningful and educationally valuable. The supported work is carried out during the summer months and is open to students of all disciplines. Students interested in summer research should discuss their interest with potential faculty mentors as early as possible.

Applications for 2024 SRS projects are no longer being accepted.

Students Seeking SRS Funding:

SRS provides a stipend of $455 per week for up to ten weeks. The SRS program does NOT fund expenses. If your project involves travel to an off-site location, please discuss with your faculty mentor whether they have funding available to cover your expenses. You may apply for additional funding from programs such as the Johnson Opportunity Grant to cover expenses if they do not.


Graduating seniors are only eligible if funding is available after consideration of all continuing students; students may receive only one SRS award per summer. Students who receive SRS funding may not be full-time employees of the university (summer program counselors, university store clerks, tour guides, etc.) during the SRS support period.

Students are not eligible to begin work until the first Saturday following Commencement and all paperwork has been completed.


All students receiving SRS grants will be known as Summer Research Scholars. Funding for the SRS program comes from a variety of endowed funds. The Robert E. Lee Research Fund was established in 1960 through a gift from the late Dr. Gustavus Benz Capito, an 1899 graduate of Washington and Lee. Additional support has come from various sources, including the Christian A. Johnson Foundation and the E.A. Morris Foundation. Several outstanding students will receive special designation as Christian A. Johnson Scholars, E.A. Morris Scholars, a Megan E. Rigdon Scholar, or a J. Peek Garlington Scholar.